top of page
Search
  • charlesstylecs

We're off ... but the other way round!!

Not south to north anymore - north to south because of the wind.


Excellent night in a Berwick-on-Tweed youth hostel - then off to my launch field at Mordington just north of the border.


The forecast was full of fronts, troughs, rain, cloud and mixed visibility. But at 10am all was calm. Away I went. Successful launch first time - which (touch wood) I felt was a good omen. I often faf around somewhat getting going. Crossed the mighty Tweed, seeing a large salmon stationery, nose upstream, in the shallows. Flights of geese, deer. The rolling fields below, with the high Cheviots close to the right, were wild, remote, wonderful.


Then the rain came, the wind increased, and I started to get knocked about a bit, as a front approached over the Cheviot tops. It was expected; I landed near Rothbury, having passed the remains of a C15th fortified border farm. What's App tracking meant that Charlotte and Gina were with me within 5 minutes. In the main street, a man gave me £2 for Salisbury - huge thanks to him. Another announced his surprise that there was no sign on the paramotor saying "only for use by the criminally insane"; he had been chatting away to his dog about it, as we all do with our pets.


Back came clear air, and eventually a breeze. Launched again, heading across moorland, past remote ancient farms, and across Hadrian's Wall where I saw the remains of one of the Roman forts on an austere rocky outcrop ... full of echoes and Roman ghosts. Then round the edge of Newcastle airport airspace, and on southwards. The clouds were building, and some getting high and dark. More turbulence, getting slowly worse. Having crossed the Tyne, I landed near Consett. 'Discretion ... best part ...valour' etc. Over 70 miles over the course of an unpromising day. Called it a day; staying with friends at Little Newsham. About 20% of the total distance covered. Sorry - few pics; concentrating too hard on flying.


78 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A(NOTHER) PAUSE - UPDATE

An unpleasant landing after an ill advised take off has grounded me for 9 days so far. Naturally over that period the weather has been perfect. Naturally - that famous law again! Anyway - my lower b

bottom of page